Class: The Brahma Viharas

The discussion on Friday 2011 April 22, 7pm – 8:50pm, will be facilitated by Robert.

The Brahma viharas will be discussed.

Robert is not requiring any of these readings to be brought to the discussion. Choosing to read any of the readings ( mostly short ) will be sufficient to prepare for the discussion:

AN = Anguttara Nikaya ( The Further-factored Discourses )
SN = Samyutta Nikaya ( The Grouped Discourses )

The Brahma Viharas are 4 mental states that the Buddha encouraged people to cultivate to reduce suffering in their lives:
  1. metta ( goodwill or loving kindness )
  2. karuna ( compassion )
  3. mudita ( being happy for others )
  4. upekka ( equanimity )

“Bhrama” means “a great being”. “Vihara” means an abode or a dwelling.

About Steve
Blog Administrator

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: