Two Out of Print Documents

Pearl has generously offered two out of print and rare documents for our study. She plans to lead on them after we have had an opportunity to study them carefully.

They are both by noted Buddhist scholar the Ven. Madawela Punnaji Mahathera, who was Pearl’s friend.

The first is on the subject of Buddhism or Pessimism? and the second on The Anatta Doctrine.

Please email Ceto1 if you cannot download these documents.

2 Responses to Two Out of Print Documents

  1. vortext says:

    Thanks for posting these valuable articles. I have and continue to learn from Bhante Punnaji and follow his teachings whenever I can. Does Pearl have original copies of the articles? I ask because the margins of several pages were left out during photo copying. Does she have any information of the dates these articles were published. I am guessing the 1970’s. I plan to collect, study and systematize Bhante Punnaji’s writings and teachings and would like to contact Pearl is she is willing. Once again my sincere thanks and best wishes. Chamath

    • ceto1 says:

      Chamath

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      Pearl lent me her originals. They were virtually the same as the two documents attached to our website.

      I had them professionally scanned twice and posted the best scans.

      Please see the first (and left) page of the document on “Anatma.” I see some handwritten years starting with 1972.

      I understand from Pearl that she worked closely with Bhante Punnaji as his student. It was while he was in Washington, DC, USA.

      Pearl is busy and traveling a great deal. Do you still want to contact her?

      When you have a draft of your work, could you please email it to me? I believe some member of the Washington DC Buddhist Studies Group would be very interested.

      My email is — mailto:jlbink1@earthlink.net

      Best wishes on your efforts and please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

      Sincerely

      Jim

      Begin forwarded message:

      > From: James Binkley > Date: December 25, 2012 8:49:50 PM EST > To: comment+eybi403d6xfz6zfqtx32qa3@comment.wordpress.com > Subject: Two Documents — Re: [The Washington D.C. Buddhist Studies Group] Comment: “Two Out of Print Documents ” > > Chamath > > Thanks for your inquiry. > > Pearl lent me her originals. They were virtually the same as the two documents attached below. > > I had them professionally scanned twice and posted the best scans on our website. > > Please see the first (and left) page of the second document. I see some handwritten years starting with 1972. > > I understand from Pearl that she worked closely with Bhante Punnaji as his student. It was while he was in Washington, DC, USA. > > Pearl is busy and traveling a great deal. Do you still want to contact her? > > When you have a draft of your work, could you please email it to me? I believe some member of the Washington DC Buddhist Studies Group would be very interested. > > Best wishes on your efforts and please let me know if I can be of further assistance. > > Sincerely > > Jim > > > >

Leave a Reply

